History Podcasts

Secretaries of Transportation

Secretaries of Transportation

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The Department of Transportation was established by an act of Congress on October 15, 1966, the Department's first official day of operation was April 1, 1967. The mission of the department is to serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people, today and into the future.The Secretary of Transportation is the principal adviser to the president in all matters relating to federal transportation programs. airlines, enforcing airline consumer protection regulations, issuance of regulations to prevent alcohol and illegal drug misuse in transportation systems and preparing transportation legislation.

Term of Service

SecretaryHome StateAdministration

1967 - 1969

Alan S. BoydFloridaL.B. Johnson

1969 - 1973

John A. VolpeMassachusettsNixon

1973 - 1974

Claude S. BrinegarCaliforniaNixon

1974 - 1975


1975 - 1977

William T. Coleman Jr.PennsylvaniaFord

1977 - 1979

Brockman AdamsWashingtonCarter

1979 - 1981

Neil E. GoldschmidtOregonCarter

1981 - 1983

Andrew L. Lewis Jr.PennsylvaniaReagan

1983 - 1987

Elizabeth H. DoleKansasReagan

1987 - 1989

James H. Burnley IVWashington, D.C.Reagan

1989 - 1991

Samuel K. SkinnerIllinoisG.H.W. Bush

1992 - 1993

Andrew H. Card Jr.MassachusettsG.H.W. Bush

1993 - 1997

Federico F. PeñaColoradoClinton

1997 - 2001

Rodney E. SlaterArkansasClinton

2001 -

Norman Y. MinetaCaliforniaG.W. Bush

Watch the video: Watch Live Testimony on. Withdrawal From Afghanistan Defense Secretary Austin and Gen. Milley (May 2022).